The academic year


The academic year is divided into winter semester and summer semester. Each semester consists of a period during which courses are held and a lecuture-free period ("holidays").


Summer semester 2020

Beginning of semester and classes2 March 2020
Rector's Day (no classes)12 March 2020
Easter breakfrom 6 to 19 April 2020
Whitsun breakfrom 30 May to 2 June 2020
End of classes30 June 2020
Lecture-free period (summer break)from 1 July bis 30 September 2020
End of semester30 September 2020

Winter semester 2020/21

Beginning of semester and classes1 October 2020
No classes2 November 2020
Christmas break21 December 2020 to 6 January 2021
End of classes31 January 2021
Lecture-free period (semester break)1 to 28 February 2021
End of semester28 February 2021